top of page



Live At Java Jazz Festival, Jakarta


Catalogue Nº: 

0166183-1 (Inakustik/Inakustik)


Friday, 27th March, 2009 (Germany)




Jean-Paul 'Bluey' Maunick            


Peter Gontha Studio            

Song List


01. I Can See The Future

02. Pieces Of A Dream

03. Deep Waters

04. Without You

05. N.O.T

06. Can't Get You Out Of My Head

07. Talkin' Loud

08. When The Sun Comes Down

09. Morning Sun




10. Always There

11. Clav Interlude

12. Colibri

13. Reach Out

14. Nights Over Egypt

15. Don't You Worry 'Bout A Thing

16. Everyday

17. I Hear Your Name

18. Still A Friend Of Mine

Buy Online

Preview, buy, and download.

Incognito - Live At Java Jazz Festival, Jakarta, Live Album

Customer Reviews



by RBSProds


Five MARVELOUS Stars! The famed British soul, R&B, & 'acid jazz' group “Incognito” 'are' 30 years into their illustrious career of performing soulful vocals over infectious & hypnotic beats with hot jazzy brass, reed, guitar, & synth solos under the leadership of Jean-Paul “Bluey” Maunick. They celebrated that anniversary with a gala concert in London. In this live video they perform before a huge enthusiastic crowd at the Java Jazz Festival in Jakarta, Indonesia. "Live in Jakarta” presents “Incognito" as a 12 piece band with a quintet of vocalists, a trio of horn players, rhythm section, and Bluey is on guitar, vocals, and keyboards, directing things from the back. The 1 hour and 48 minute set is full of passionate vocals, deep vamps, driving beats, and hot instrumental solos. They are the direct lineage and on the same level of groups like the James Brown band; Chicago; Blood, Sweat & Tears; Tower of Power; and Earth Wind and Fire thanks to the talented singers and the jazzy precision and solo expertise of the horns and rhythm section.

The ‘best of the best' begins with “I Can See The Future” by Imani, followed by “Pieces Of A Dream”, and then a passionate performance by soul diva Maysa singing and scatting her way through “Deep Waters”. Tony Momrelle gets soulful on "Without You" and there is a spectacular “Can’t Get You Out Of My Head” by vocalist Joy Rose. There are hardswinging covers of Ronnie Laws’ “Always There”, a stunning version of the Jones Girls’ “Nights Over Egypt” featuring Joy Rose, and “Talking Loud” by Maysa. "Incogito" consists of vocalists Maysa, Tony Momrelle, Imani, Joy Rose, and local Indonesian favorite Dira; the brass & reed trio is Paul Greenwood on tenor sax and flute, Trevor Meyers on trombone and synthesizer, and Sid Gauld on trumpet and flugelhorn; and the rhythm section is Francis Hilton on bass, Richard Bailey on drums, and Matt Cooper on keyboards. On this video, 'The United Nations of Incognito’ presents a long, continuous set of high quality and consistency that left the audience chanting for more. My Highest Recommendation. Five FIERY Stars! 

(The overall song listing: "I Can See The Future”, "Pieces Of A Dream”, "Deep Waters”, "Without You", “N.O.T.", “Can’t Get You Out Of My Head”, “Talking Loud”, "When the Sun Comes Down”, “Morning Sun”; “Always There”, “Colibri”, “Reach Out”, “Nights Over Egypt”, “Don’t You Worry ‘Bout A Thing”, “Everyday”, “I Hear Your Name” and “Still A Friend of Mine”).

bottom of page